The current school site, located at Sampson Avenue, was established in 1979, however Catholic education in the Circular Head region enjoys a rich history dating back to 1849.
Catholic education began in the town of Smithton when St Attracta’s School commenced on 6 February 1951 at 98 Emmett Street by four sisters of St Joseph. The school was named after St Attracta – an Irish nun/saint and innkeeper. In 1977, land was bought on Tier Hill in Sampson Avenue. This land would allow enough space for a school, convent, presbytery, and church. With the assistance of a Federal Government Grant a new school was built in three stages. The school was renamed St Peter Chanel after Peter Chanel, a Marist priest, had been martyred on Futuna Island. He was called ‘the man with the good heart.’ We celebrate the Feast of Saint Peter Chanel on 28 April each year.
St Peter Chanel School commenced on 26 February 1979 with Sr Carmel Jones as Principal. The official blessing and opening was held on 18 March 1979 by the Vicar General, Monsignor Bernard Rogers and Mr Ray Groom, Minister for Housing and Construction.