You are here: Home About Us History

History

The current school site, located at Sampson Avenue, was established in 1979, however Catholic education in the Circular Head region enjoys a rich history dating back to 1849.  

In 1951, the Sister Guardian of the Sisters of St Joseph in Tasmania commenced St Attracta school at the location of Emmett Street in Smithton.  In 1979 the school moved to the current site in Sampson Avenue and the name was changed to St Peter Chanel School (since officially named "St Peter Chanel Catholic School").  

The school was named after the Patron Saint of Oceania, Peter Chanel, who worked in France as a Marist Father.  In 1836 as a 34 year old, he arrived on Futuna Island.  The inhabitants of Futuna gave Peter Chanel the name "the man with good heart", however this was not enough to save him from the wrath of the King, who tragically had Peter clubbed to death in 1841.  The school celebrates the Feast of Saint Peter Chanel on 28th April each year.

 

SOSJ

SOSJ

Monogram

Fed Cross

SOSJ Images

St Attr

SPC

Images

St Peter

Convent and Logo

convent and Logo

Pres

schools